Prague: Final Thoughts

12May09

prague_street2Some friends of mine and I always try and look at life in chapters. They could be anything. The “high school” chapter where I had long hair and wore boots. The “fundamentalist” chapter where I protested everything and wore spikes and the “sweatpants” chapter where I… well you get it. I knew going to Prague for X amount of time would turn into another chapter. Like any good book the story as a whole gets better and better with each chapter. Life is no different if you know how to cultivate it that way.

Going to Prague I literally had zero Idea what I was in for. My first night there was one of the scariest nights I’ve ever had. Fear of the unknown won again. After some introductions and routine days things became more familiar and I felt safe again. Happens every time.

Traveling the globe puts things into perspective This morning I was at Home Depot with my mother. After finding out that the thing we went there for was on the other side of the building she stressed “Argh, now we have to walk allll the way over there”. I immediately told her about a story I read about genocide in central Africa. A little extreme, I know, but these things start to come to mind once you experience different cultures outside your own. Living in a first world country leads to first world problems which are generally small and completely insignificant in the grand scheme of things.

The people I met in Prague were the hardest to leave behind. The friendships you make over the course of short periods of time are sometimes the most intense relationships you can have. Commonality, familiarity and the sense of home can bring people together like you wouldn’t imagine.

My experience in the the Czech Republic and the people I’ve met will ultimately be the reason I go back one day. It’ll also be the reason I try and replicate the experience elsewhere as many times over as I can.

I can’t help but bring up the American tourists and study abroad students in Prague. Expecting a culture to cater to you is not the way to go. You must cater yourself to the culture. That’s when you’ll truly experience visiting/living in another country. Let yourself go and leave the Ugg boots home, please.

2 Responses to “Prague: Final Thoughts”

  1. 1 benson

    hey bill
    Sounds good and interesting to listen to your thoughts. best wishes from almost Czech Republic 🙂

  2. 2 Merel

    ^_^ good one on the Uggs


Leave a Reply

