Mama, I’m comin’ home.

08Apr09

27-brooklyn-bridge-new-york-city_smTeaching has been pretty awesome. To give you an idea, I work for a school that has no classrooms. No public classes really. Large companies employ the school I work for that sends teachers to their headquarters to conduct classes in their board rooms. Business / banking / general English. A typical day will start with an 8am class followed by a large break for duration of the work day then more classes in the early evening. Classes are usually either 60 or 90 minutes. I’ve been teaching about 8 or 9 classes a week so it’s been fairly light in comparison to other teachers schedules. I’ve had plenty of time to handle any side work I managed to grab as well as time to myself, which I’ve never really had much of in the past. Weeknights have been spent with friends, dinner at Andrea’s and the infamous karaoke Monday’s at Blind Eye. The occasional dinner out and about has become a once a week thing.

Beyond that, the teaching climate here in Prague seems to be deteriorating. A lot of classes are being canceled, jobs are harder to get and the visa process has become more complex. I’ve lost 4 classes permanently this week alone. So with that I’ve decided to come home and return to bar tending for the summer. I’ll be back on Long Island, splitting my time between there and Brooklyn. I’ll be bar tending at The Crescent and Flower Fields, same as last summer. Only this time it’ll be more intense since I’m not sharing my time with another full time music biz job. Given the circumstances, I’m stoked. Summers in NYC are my favorite. It’ll be nice to have familiar things again and see my friends and family. Who knows what will happen or where I’ll be beyond the summer, but I’ve learned not to think that far ahead. With what I’ve accomplished here I can literally work anywhere in the world so… we shall see.

For now, I’m looking forward to Brooklyn, Boats, BBQ’s and Buddies. I’ll be home May 4th, so only a few more weeks. Let the countdown begin!

2 Responses to “Mama, I’m comin’ home.”

  1. YAY!!!!

  2. 2 K

    Boats? Sign me up!


Leave a Reply

